Introduction

Hi, my name is Víctor Mayoral Vilches, student of a double degree in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain. I’m passionate about robotics, artificial intelligence and embedded systems. In my free time i love to do sports and watch movies.

The aim of this blog is to provide information about my project at the Google Summer of Code titled as “Beagle-ROS” wich aims to integrate the Robot Operative System (ROS) and the BeagleBone.

The code will be available at https://github.com/vmayoral/beagle-ros.

 

Cheers 😉

Standard

6 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Harold Miller says:

    I’m attempting to do the same thing for a home-brewed robotic project. I’ll be very interested in your results.

  2. Hola Victor

    I’m starting to work with ROS and a BBB. I’m a bit confused, so I’d love to poke your brain a bit.

    1) What’s the difference between meta-ros and beagle-ros? Besides the provided drivers for a few capes, and the recipes for some of the ROS tutorials (which in itself is already a lot). Is it to be seen as an example project?

    2) After reading tons of pages everywhere, I’m starting to get a sense that if I want to write my own ROS packages for my BBB, I need to build Angstrom from source (i.e. as opposed to using an image from http://www.angstrom-distribution.org/demo/beaglebone/), add the meta ros layer (and maybe the beagle ros layer), a layer for my own packages, and then crosscompile everything, transfer the image to a SD card and flash it to the BBB. Is that correct? Now if it is the case, when I make changes to my code (i.e. bug fix, change a parameter, new feature), I’d have to crosscompile again, transfer to SD card then to flash again… That seems to be an awfully slow development cycle… Surely this is not the way to do it…

    3) Do you have any experience with the Adafruit IO library (http://learn.adafruit.com/setting-up-io-python-library-on-beaglebone-black/installation)? I’m planning to write python nodes that would use it. Could this be developed on the BBB directly, Python being interpreted

    Gracias

  3. Victor: Your work is very interesting with the BBB, thank you for the contributions. I am trying to make my robot controller with the BBB rev C, Debian with a more complete ROS install on the Micro SD. How does one go about installing ROS there instead of on the eMMC, where it won’t fit? The BBB doesn’t use regular drive letters in its program paths, does it?

Leave a Reply

